Home Technology Pipeline Our Team Contact Us
Developing Next Generation for the treatment of

Scientific Advisors

Emil CoccaroEmil F. Coccaro, M.D., is currently the Ellen C. Manning Professor and Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Neuroscience at the Pritzker School of Medicine, University of Chicago. Dr. Coccaro has been the recipient of various awards, including the A.E. Bennett Award for Outstanding Research (1989) and the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill?s Exemplary Psychiatrist Award (1992). He also serves on the editorial boards of several journals, among them International Clinical Psychopharmacology, Journal of Personality Disorders, and Aggression and Violent Behavior. In addition, he is the Impulse Control and Personality Disorders Section Editor for Current Psychiatry Reports. Dr. Coccaro has been the recipient of a number of research grants from the National Institute of Mental Health, the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, the Borderline Personality Disorder Research Foundation, and the Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation. Dr. Coccaro is the author or co-author of over 130 peer-reviewed journal articles, as well as 175 abstracts and 40 book chapters. He has edited or co-edited three books, most recently, Aggression: Psychiatric Assessment and Treatment, published by Marcel Dekker. He lectures widely on topics such as mood and personality disorders and the neuroscience, neuropsychopharmacology, genetics, and treatment of impulsive aggressive behavior.

Dr. Coccaro received his undergraduate B.S. degree in Biology from Fordham University, where he graduated Magna Cum Laude in 1975. He continued his studies at the New York University School of Medicine, completing his M.D. degree in 1979. After a medical internship at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center and a psychiatric residency at the Mount Sinai Medical Center in New York City, Dr. Coccaro joined the faculty of the Department of Psychiatry at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine in 1983. In 1989, Dr. Coccaro moved to Philadelphia to found and direct the Clinical Neuroscience Research Unit at the MCP Hahnemann School of Medicine. Dr. Coccaro moved to the Pritzker School of Medicine as the Director of the Clinical Neuroscience & Psychopharmacology Research Unit in September 1999. He became Chairman of the Department in November 2004. Dr. Coccaro is a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association (APA) and a Fellow of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP).

Ned Heindel, Ph.D., is the Howard S. Bunn Chair Professor of Chemistry at Lehigh University where he has conducted research and taught since 1966. At Lehigh, Dr. Heindel?s research has involved the development of diagnostic and therapeutic products under the support of nine pharmaceutical companies, three federal agencies, and four foundations. He has consulted in big and small pharma, and has mentored 40 doctoral students, 131 M.S. students, and 23 postdoctoral fellows most of whom undertook careers inside the pharmaceutical industry. Dr. Heindel has served on two corporate boards, five science advisory boards, three editorial boards, and four professional boards.

In 1994, Dr. Heindel served as national President of the American Chemical Society. His awards have included two honorary doctorates, the Robinson Award , the Briody Award, the L. W. Brady Cancer Achievement Award, the Henry Hill Award in Medicinal Chemistry, the Mosher Award for Contributions to Chemistry, and the Ben Franklin Partnership Award for Corporate Collaborations. He holds a PhD from the University of Delaware and was an NSF Postdoctoral Fellow at Princeton University.